DOL Certifies Approx. 3,000 Workers in 17 States as Eligible to Apply for Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA)

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) today announced that approximately 3,000 workers from companies in 17 states — Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia — are eligible to apply for Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA).

«The U.S. Department of Labor is committed to helping all workers, including those who are adversely impacted by trade,» said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. «Through the Trade Adjustment Assistance program, we are leveraging opportunities for displaced workers to acquire the skills needed to secure good jobs in promising areas of their local economies.»

Workers covered by these latest Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) certifications will be contacted by their respective states with instructions on how to apply for individual benefits and services. Those who apply may receive case management and re-employment services, training in new occupational skills and trade readjustment allowances that provide income support for workers enrolled in training. Some workers may also receive job search and relocation allowances, and the Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC).

While Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) is open to eligible workers of all ages, workers 50 years of age and older may elect to receive Re-employment Trade Adjustment Assistance (RTAA) instead. If a worker obtains new employment at wages less than $55,000 and less than those earned in adversely affected employment, the RTAA program will pay 50 percent of the difference between the old wage and the new wage, up to $12,000 over a two-year period. RTAA participants may also be eligible for retraining and the HCTC.