<!--:es-->Teacher of the Year finalists named<!--:-->

Teacher of the Year finalists named

The Dallas Independent School District announced its four finalists for the 2011–2012 Teacher of the Year award. They are Karen Marx, North Dallas High School; Nneka McGee, Dallas Environmental Science Academy; Chris Nichols, Anne Frank Elementary School; and Deanne Paiva, William L. Cabell Elementary School.
In addition, five finalists for the Teacher Assistant of the Year award have been named. They are Amparo Arellano, David G. Burnet Elementary School; Camille Goode, John Ireland Elementary School; Angela Linco, Martin Weiss Elementary School; Mattie Pipkins, Paul L. Dunbar Learning Center; and Shirley Whaley, Hillcrest High School. The Teacher Assistant of the Year program recognizes the importance of the many contributions of campus teacher assistants and the dedication and support they provide to students, teachers, parents, and the community.
The Teacher of the Year and the Teacher Assistant of the Year will be named at a banquet, sponsored by Central Market, on May 16 at the Women’s Museum at Fair Park.
A complete list of all 2011-2012 Campus Teachers of the Year and Campus Teacher Assistants of the Year is available in the April 2011 issue of Communicator.